Is pikachu a mouse pokemon?

Pikachu is a mouse Pokémon

---

Pikachu is actually based on squirrels and the pikas are up in arms. Pikachu, which looks something like a cross between a mouse and a rabbit, has always been put in the “mouse” category in the Pokédex