Why did the band one direction break up?

It seems the reason behind the split is due to the band members wanting to pursue different solo careers. That worked out well for some of the members and not so much for the others.

---

One Direction announced they were going on hiatus in August 2015 so they could pursue solo projects. This came five months after member Zayn Malik left the boy band in March of the same year.