Why are pandas almost extinct?

Pandas are endangered mainly due to habitat loss. Humans have cleared much of the bamboo forests that pandas need to survive. Because pandas eat only bamboo, they cannot adapt to live outside of those forests the way other animals do, unless the pandas are provided with bamboo.