Who is gum baby?

A character from Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, Gum Baby is a living doll & agent tasked by John Henry and Brer Rabbit to retrieve Anansi’s journal in the human world. Gum Baby is 1 foot tall, carved of wood, & throws sap at her enemies. She’s opinionated, quick to anger, & aggressive.