What does the word trill mean?

A quavering or vibratory sound, especially a rapid alternation of sung or played notes.

---

As a noun it means: a quavering or vibratory sound, especially a rapid alternation of sung or played notes. "the caged bird launched into a piercing trill". As a verb it means: produce a quavering or warbling sound. "a skylark was trilling overhead"