Is there a such thing as a red moon?

A blood moon occurs during a total lunar eclipse. During a total lunar eclipse, Earth lines up between the Moon and the Sun. The air molecules in Earth's atmosphere scatter out most of the blue light. Remaining light reflects onto the Moon's surface with a red glow, making the Moon appear red.