What does oxen free mean?

"Olly olly oxen free," is called out in children's games to mean that all may come out of hiding. Etymologists say the first two words, "Olly olly," no doubt are from "All ye," which even today court bailiffs pronounce as "Oyee." Oxen may be a corruption of "all come in," and free is just "free."

---

"Olly olly oxen free" is a catchphrase or truce term used in children's games such as hide and seek, to indicate that players who are hiding can come out into the open without losing the game.