Are ants nocturnal?

Some species of ants are nocturnal, meaning their main activities are done at night. Many others are diurnal, meaning they live and work during the daylight hours. Finally, some species are active both by night and day.

---

Carpenter ants are mostly nocturnal, but sugar ants (the kind that invade homes) can be found out and about during the day, too – although the worker ants are mostly nocturnal.