What is fitzpatrick skin type?

The Fitzpatrick Scale is used to numerically classify skin colors. It provides an estimate of how the skin will respond to ultraviolet light. Type one skin is very sensitive to sunlight and burns rather than tans. Type six is insensitive to sunlight and will not burn.