What came first the lighter or the match?

you know the first ones were nothing more than the converted pistols in the 16th century. But it wasn't until 1823 (note this is before the invention of the ACTUAL match in 1826) a German chemist named Johann Wolfgang Dobereiner is credited with inventing the first lighter.