How did the thundermans get their superpowers?

Given the recent appearance of Chloe and the only other superoffspring shown, this is enough evidence to suggest that in order to gain superpowers,you need parents who have superpowers of their own.King Crab said his mother was partially crustacean.Which would suggest that it is genetic and heredity