What's the difference between carmel and caramel?

Generally, “caramel” is defined as a chewy, light-brown candy made from butter, sugar, and milk or cream. ... Caramel is the correct spelling if you're talking about food or colors. Carmel is a misspelling when used in those contexts, but it is a word that can be used as a name for people or places.