Can a dog tell time?

One of the ways a dog can judge the passage of time is by the decay of scent, over time smells dissipate and a dog is able to tell time by changes in the strength of odors.

---

Dogs have neurons in their brain that activate when they're waiting for an expected outcome. They aren't so much telling time, as judging time. Dogs sense when it's time for a walk, dinner, or sleep. Circadian rhythm, a 24-hour cycle, helps them figure out when it is time to do different things.