Can a dog tell time?

Dogs have neurons in their brain that activate when they're waiting for an expected outcome. They aren't so much telling time, as judging time. Dogs sense when it's time for a walk, dinner, or sleep. Circadian rhythm, a 24-hour cycle, helps them figure out when it is time to do different things.