What is the definition of pronoun?

According to the Collins Dictionary, '”A pronoun is a word that you use to refer to someone or something when you do not need to use a noun, often because the person or thing has been mentioned earlier.” Common pronouns are he, she, you, me, I, we, us, this, them, that.