What is an epson salt?

Epsom salt is a household chemical with many traditional uses, including bath salts. Epsom salt is Magnesium sulfate with the formula MgSO4, consisting of magnesium cations and sulfate anions. It's a white crystalline solid, soluble in water but not soluble in ethanol.