Why are sloppy joes called sloppy joe?

According to legend, a cook named Joe at Floyd Angell’s café in Sioux City, Iowa, added tomato sauce to his “loose meat” sandwiches. Some believe this is how the sloppy joe sandwich was born. And depending on how much you have on your breading, it can be sloppy.