Why are the stripes on the american flag red and white?

The stripes represent the original 13 Colonies and the stars represent the 50 states of the Union. The colours of the flag are symbolic as well; red symbolizes hardiness and valour, white symbolizes purity and innocence, and blue represents vigilance, perseverance and justice.