What is low glycemic mean?

The glycemic index is a measurement system founded in the early 1980's. It ranks carbohydrate foods by their effect on your blood sugar levels. Low glycemic foods are digested & released slowly for sustained energy. A low glycemic score is 55 or under is excellent. The lower the score, the better