What does a rotten potato smell like?

If a potato has become soft or mushy, you should throw it out. Though it's normal for potatoes to smell earthy or nutty, a musty or moldy odor is a hallmark of spoilage. Sometimes, a potato might have a blemish or bad spot on the inside that you can't see from the outside.