How do i make a conduit work in minecraft?

To activate, a conduit needs to be in the center of a 3×3×3 volume of water (source blocks, flowing water, and/or waterlogged blocks), which itself must be enclosed within an activation frame. The frame is built out of blocks in three 5×5 open squares centered on the conduit, one around each axis.