When do you put the glaze on a ham?

Sugar burns quite easily, so you only want to apply the glaze to the ham during the last part of cooking. Otherwise, your glaze will turn into a smoky mess. For best results, apply the glaze to the ham about 30 to 60 minutes before the ham is finished cooking.