Are there extra terrestrial beans?

Extraterrestrial life is hypothetical life existing outside of Earth & which did not originate on Earth. Such life might range from simple prokaryotes to beings with civilizations far more advanced than humanity. The Drake equation speculates about the existence of intelligent life in the universe.