What is it called when a gas turns into a solid?

The process is called "Deposition". It is the phase transition, in which gas is transformed directly into solid without passing through the liquid phase.

---

Substances typically follow a cooling path from gas, to liquid, to solid. The process of a gas transforming directly to solid is called deposition.