Why do they call french toast french toast?

The “toast" part of the name French Toast occurred to indicate it is a food for breakfast. The “French” part of the name indicates the technique of coating the bread with a custard or sweetened egg mixture before frying it.

---

The most likely explanation is that calling this centuries-old dish "French" made it sound fancier and allowed chefs to charge a little more for the dish.