Is an ipad the same as a tablet?

An iPad is a type of tablet, specifically it's Apples version of a tablet. Many other manufacturers also make tablet computers, but those are not called iPads.

---

The difference is in the features available for one device but not the other. The difference is blurred with all the options available to both devices.