What is the definition of peers?

Peer, as a verb, is defined as to look narrowly or searchingly, as in the effort to discern clearly. Peer, as a noun, is defined as a person who is equal to another in abilities, qualifications, age, background, and social status; a person of the same legal status; or a companion.