When was the white house first built?

It took 8 years to build The White House. In 1792, competition design, submitted by Irish-born architect James Hoban, was chosen and the cornerstone was laid. President John Adams together with his wife Abigail, moved into the unfinished building in 1800, after whole eight years of construction.