What is a partridge in a pear tree?

A partridge is a type of bird, and a pear tree is a fruit tree that bears the fruit pears. In the 12 days of Christmas song the gift on the first day of Christmas is a partridge in a pear tree, so it is a bird, in a fruit tree.