Is n. u. t. e. a word?

"Nute," spelled N-U-T-E, is sometimes seen as a surname, but isn't a regular word in English. If you meant "mute," spelled M-U-T-E, then yes, that's a real English word; literally, it describes someone as unable to speak, though there are several other meaning derived from that one.