How do you survive a black bear attack?

Carry bear pepper spray. As with the grizzly bear, bear pepper spray should be your first line of defense in a bear attack. Stand your ground and make lots of noise. Black bears often bluff when attacking. ... Don't climb a tree. Black bears are excellent climbers. ... Fight back.