How long can mayonnaise stay out?

You can let an opened jar of mayonnaise sit out at room temperature for up to 8 hours, says the United States Department of Agriculture. Opened mayonnaise that has been held above 50 degrees Fahrenheit for more than 8 hours should be discarded.