What's on diesel?

Diesel fuel is one of the petroleum products distilled from raw crude oil. Because of its low flashpoint it is used in commercial engines that require a glow plug and not a spark plug.

---

Most of the compounds in diesel fuel are hydrocarbons of the paraffinic, naphthenic, or aromatic class. Diesel fuel also contains small quantities of organic compounds of sulfur (e.g., dibenzothiophene), nitrogen (e.g., carbazole), and oxygen.