What is the carbonite maneuver?

Asked for his opinion, Spock compares the situation to a game of chess When one player is outmatched, the game is over. Kirk replies that the answer is not chess, but poker. Kirk says the Enterprise contains "corbomite", a protective substance that automatically destroys any attacker.