What does p. i. mean?

The meaning of P-I depends on the context. As a word, "pi" is the 16th letter of the Greek alphabet, used to represent the ratio of a circle's circumference to its radius. As an abbreviation, P.I. most often stands for Private Investigator, but can have dozens of other meanings as well.