What is mirren in cooking?

Mirin is a common staple used in Japanese cooking. It's a type of rice wine, similar to sake, but with a lower alcohol and higher sugar content. Mirin has a sweet flavor, which makes it a nice contrast when used with saltier sauces, like soy or tamari.