Who invented quotation marks?

Aristarchus drew inspiration from his predecessor Zenodotus, who had created the first such mark a century earlier: by marking superfluous lines of text with marginal dashes, or lines , Zenodotus had invented the field of literary criticism quite literally at a stroke.