What is the difference between evaporated milk and condensed milk?

Evaporated milk is made by simmering milk to reduce the water — hence the name — and it's unsweetened. Condensed milk, on the other hand, is milk cooked with mega quantities of sugar. The result is a thick, pudding-like milk that's actually sweeter than cake frosting.