How deep are the labrea tar pits?

The La Brea tar pits are only a few inches deep.

---

The tar pits were, and are, a deceptively dangerous place, says Earth magazine. “As little as four centimeters of tar could be enough to ensnare a large animal.” Unlike most fossil quarries, the La Brea tar pits are still an active hazard.