How do you transplant an aloe vera plant?

Select a pot with a drainage hole in the bottom Spread a 1- to 2-inch layer of potting soil over the bottom of the pot. ... Slide the aloe plant out of the container it's in. Place the aloe on top of the soil in the new pot. Add more soil around the root ball as needed to fill in the pot.