Who is the captain of the boat in jaws?

One of the greatest things about Jaws is the absolutely spot-on acting, especially by the film's trio of leading men: Roy Scheider as Police Chief Brody, Richard Dreyfuss as oceanographer Hooper and Robert Shaw as shark hunter Quint.