What is a letterman jacket?

A Letterman Jacket is a jacket earned for achievement of a sport (football, basketball, volleyball, etc.) at a Varsity level in high school. In some schools, you can earn a Letterman Jacket in choir or band. You can also buy a letter and a jacket at most high schools.