How do butterflies go to the bathroom?

Adult butterflies do not urinate or defecate (or "go to the bathroom"). The larval life stage - the caterpillar - does all of the eating, and caterpillars almost continually defecate. Interestingly, when there are enough caterpillars eating in the same place, you can hear the poop!