Why do cats whine?

Cats definitely can whine, and some are more vocal than others. It can mean they want love, food, water, clean catbox, go out or in, or because they like the sound of their voice. Start with petting and see if that fixes it, then try the others. A sick kitty more often yowls or hides somewhere dark.