How did queen elizabeth the first defeat the spanish armada?

With smaller, faster, and generally more agile ships than those of the Spanish fleet, the English force under the command of Francis Drake was able to defeat the Armada in the confined space of the English Channel by outmaneuvering the larger, more heavily armed, and consequently slower vessels.