What's the difference between a cinnamon bun and a cinnamon roll?

The cinnamon bun is shaped like a bun or biscuit. the cinnamon roll is a layered look achieved by rolling the dough then cutting it crosswise before cooking thereby creating the look of layers or strips rolled.