How many movies did john wayne make in his career?

John Wayne's film career spanned 5 decades, from 1926 to 1976. Born Marion Robert Morrison in 1907 Iowa, Wayne appeared in nearly 250 movies, winning an Academy Award for only one: True Grit, in 1970. His final film was the Shootist, in 1976.