What is this song la bamba about?

The Ritchie Valens song La Bamba seems to be about a sailor trying to impress a girl by his ability to dance La Bamba. The dance originated in the Mexican state of Vera Cruz, a coastal city, & the lyrics indicate the song being sung by someone bragging about his rank, grace, and style.