What's the difference between chili pepper and red pepper?

Red Pepper is made from the ground fruit of a plant in the Capsicum family. The fruits, commonly known as “chilies” or “chili peppers,” are fiery red or orange pods which rarely grow to more than 4 inches in length. The ground product ranges from orange-red, to deep, dark red.