What does the root epi mean?

The English prefix epi-, which means “over” or “upon.” You can remember that the prefix epi- means “upon” from the noun epidemic, which is a widespread disease that comes “upon” people; epi- also means “over” like the word epidermis, which is the outer skin that lies “over” lower layers of skin.