What's the difference between whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour?

Whole wheat pastry flour is milled from low-protein soft wheat, while regular whole wheat flour is milled from harder wheat. The lower protein content of the pastry flours create lighter and softer baked goods than those made with the equivalent regular flour.